I Quit My Day Job and Will Pursue Copywriting Full Time!

Okay, admittedly, this is an excuse post. Where have I been for the last month and a half? Did I give up on copywriting?

No! Actually, I have been in the process of moving and settling in to my new home. This has put a strain on my copywriting studies to be sure. It has also forced me to quit my day job due to the added commute.

Interestingly, I have had less time to study copywriting since I left my day job. I used to leave for work early each day and steal away 10 minutes of study time while sitting in the parking lot prior to work. Since moving, I have been fully engaged in putting my house in order and have found little time for studies. Recently, having my house mostly in order, I found myself at a crossroads.

Do I find another job, or do I dedicate myself to the full time study of copywriting?

After much prayer and contemplation, and with the encouragement of my husband, I have decided to pursue copywriting full time.

I have just a few loose ends to tie up first. Namely, a two week trip to California to visit my parents (now that doesn’t sound too bad). I also have several items that I need to list on Etsy and eBay, which I will continue to do until copywriting replaces my income. In truth, I may continue selling on Etsy anyway just because I enjoy it.

I am still in the process of reading Secrets of a Freelance Writer: How to Make $100,000 a Year or More. While you may think I am a slow reader, I like to think of my progress like the tortoise and the hare: slow and steady. Or as my husband says: baby steps.

For now, I am content with this.

Leave a Reply

