Taking Personal Inventory to Create a Copywriting Portfolio: No Experience Necessary

According to Robert (Bob) Bly, novice writers who are trying to break into a lucrative copywriting career need to take inventory of their previous writing experience (or else create some).

He asserts that almost everyone (who is interested in writing) has written something that can be used in a portfolio (and if they haven’t, they need to get typing) whether they have “copywriting” experience or not.

Based on this advice from Secrets of a Freelance Writer: How to Make a $100,000 or More, I immediately set to work taking personal inventory of my writing experience. I was astonished at the amount of material that could potentially be used in my portfolio.

For example (and in no particular order):

Now, lest you think I am a genius, much of this has been done without a marketing degree or the persuasiveness training (learning the art of copywriting) that I am currently pursuing.

However, I am not satisfied stopping here. I intend, Lord willing, to follow the advice in Bly’s book, Secrets of a Freelance Writer, to gain more experience for my portfolio. In the meantime, I am working on putting the above list together in the format that Bly suggests for best success.

His book is priceless and affordable (and available on Amazon.com).

If I can do it . . . so can you!

Leave a Reply

